American Studies

Advisory Board

The American Studies Advisory Board is composed of Americanist scholars from more than nine programs and departments, including two professional schools, across the UC Berkeley campus. The advisory board provides guidance and feedback to our program, assisting with shaping the major and minor, course design and delivery, and sharing research and teaching innovations in their fields of expertise.

Additionally, board members serve as partners in research and community collaborations; act as ambassadors for our program at events, scholarly conferences, and to American Studies programs at other universities; and support American Studies majors, serving as mentors to help them negotiate the challenges of interdisciplinary scholarship.

2021/2022 Members:

Mark Brilliant, Associate Professor – History & American Studies
Michael Cohen, Senate Lecturer – American Studies & African American Studies
Alexander Benjamin Craghead, Lecturer – American Studies
Sarah Gold McBride, Lecturer – American Studies
David Henkin, Professor – History
Richard Hutson, Professor Emeritus – English
Lauren Kroiz, Associate Professor – History of Art
Margaretta Lovell, Professor – History of Art
Donald McQuade, Professor Emeritus – English
Kathleen Moran, Senior Continuing Lecturer, Emerita – American Studies
Louise Mozingo, Professor & Chair – Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning
Christine Palmer, Continuing Lecturer & Associate Director – American Studies
Beth H. Piatote, Associate Professor – English & Comparative Literature
Leigh Raiford, Professor – African American Studies
Christine Rosen, Associate Professor – Haas Business & Public Policy Group
Scott Saul, Professor – English
Andrew Shanken, Professor of Architecture & Director – American Studies
Shannon Steen, Associate Professor – Theater, Dance, & Performance Studies
Hertha D. Sweet Wong, Professor – English & Chair of Art Practice
Bryan Wagner, Professor – English